Welcome to October! [FREEBIE]

To celebrate October, I’ve created two fall-themed postcard designs. I’ve posted them here, along with the back side below, for you to print and send to your nearest and dearest this season. The originals are already en route to two of my favorite people in the world, and I’m hoping the postal service doesn’t bang them up too badly. Credit to The Zen of Motherhood for the blessings I used to adorn the drawings. 

Image

Here in South Florida, it doesn’t feel much like fall has arrived. I’ve been enjoying the apple butter my mom and I jarred on the autumn equinox a few weeks ago, and I wore tights and boots to work today. I’m hoping that these hopeful gestures will draw some fall air down our way. October has always been a special and exciting time for me. I used to pass up big birthday parties in favor of throwing elaborate celebrations for Halloween. I’d start planning my costume months and months in advance. As an adult, the month has taken on additional significance as I’ve become more attuned to the routines and rituals of the seasons and their effect on my life. Despite the lack of a cool breeze and crunchy leaves on the ground, October brings the sabbat of Samhain as well as the holiday of Dia de Los Muertos, where we celebrate the promise of new growth and rebirth amid the spirit of darkness and death. Now is the time to put away the last of summer’s bounty, burn some fires, and be okay with having to go underground for a while. It’s time to remember those who are no longer with us, and take stock of who and what we can do without. While I’m putting up the pumpkins and skeletons that will decorate my home for the holiday, I’ll be thinking about the mental cobwebs that need clearing and ghosts of my past that need to move on.

About Kristyn Michele Bat

Teacher, tattooer, artist.

7 comments

  1. Those are so beautiful!

  2. Pingback: Art Fallout 2012 + places you can go see my work this weekend. « Kristyn Michele Bat

  3. Gorgeous!! One hasn’t hit my mailbox yet so I guess you’re saving it for when I see you, right? 😉

  4. Hilda

    I love the second one with the tree and fruits, your art work gets better and better each day K, the sky is the limit and you will go far my friend!
    I have found some books from Brian Froud with some beautiful art work for my back. We’ll talk about what I want on my back once I choose a couple of the pieces from the books.

Leave a comment