The *Other* Most Important Tattoo Ever

As you know, I’ve been working at Sunset Tattoo Parlour for a little over a month now. Since being here I’ve had to start over in a lot of ways. Many of my clients (cute girls looking to get cute, small tattoos) just can’t justify the drive from Southwest Broward to Southwest Miami to get tattooed by me. I do have some solid regular clients with pieces in progress, and a lot of good friends and family (my Dad, the owner of the original “most important tattoo“, is coming in soon to get his next piece!) who I know will support and follow me almost unconditionally, but I’m not as busy as I would be if I were closer to home. I’ve also undertaken a serious portfolio overhaul with a lot of new pictures needing to be taken of old pieces. I’m not going to lie, it’s been stressful; despite the positive world of difference in environment, collaboration, camaraderie and clientele here at Sunset compared to my last shop, starting over is HARD.

In my most insecure, frightened moments, I always turn to the story of Kali as the Dark Goddess of the Pruning Shears. No matter how many times I have to re-plant, trim back, or even chop everything away and start over, my roots are intact. Little green shoots are better than an overgrown, unhealthy plant.

My amazing boss lady Maytee Bringas has been nothing but hugely supportive of me – promoting my work, opening the shop on Sunday to let me get some extra hours, and best of all, letting me tattoo her with this cute wakizashi sword from my girly Japanese flash sheet. Tattooing her was like the “first tattoo” experience I never really had, as the person who taught me to tattoo basically left me to my own devices after watching me do a few lines. Maytee and I talked about different techniques, effects, ideas, and I got a lot of feedback at every step of the way. I feel really lucky to have the opportunity to learn from her, and everyone I work with at Sunset, including the newest member of the family – my love, my partner, my bestie, the original, the most premium Jesus Lopez. Yes, we’re working together once again, we just can’t seem to stay apart. It’s good to have our complete collection of shared inks back in one place.

Come hang out with us at the shop’s 1 Year Anniversary celebration on August 3!

About Kristyn Michele Bat

Teacher, tattooer, artist.

One comment

  1. Pingback: No More School, No More Books. No More Students’ Dirty Looks. | Kristyn Michele Bat

Leave a Reply

