Fancy Easter Vibes

Hello from a very full Kristyn. I’m typing this from my grandparents house after devouring traditional Easter dinner – a huge plate of cavatelli, salad, roasted peppers and olives, bread, wine, and I’ll also admit – a meat cheat in the form of a slice of salami pie. So obviously, you’ll understand that this post is slightly abbreviated.

This is what I brought to dinner today:

I followed these easy instructions from Frosted Fingers to dye the hard boiled eggs. The only changes I made were using cool neon food dye and, due to my lack of pre-planning I purchased eggs that were already boiled, peeled and ready to go. For the deviled egg filling, I used this recipe from All You for Curried Chutney Deviled Eggs. Instead of the regular mango chutney, I used a jarred pineapple-pepper flavor. The eggs looked and tasted bright and fun, and were a nice tropical feeling twist to the regular Easter drudgery of paprika and pastel. And this is what I worked on yesterday:

A little bit of Easter flash that turned out really to be more of a springtime illustration. Last year’s Easter page below. Hope everyone had a lovely holiday/weekend.

About Kristyn Michele Bat

Teacher, tattooer, artist.

6 comments

  1. I really think the Easter holiday is lacking in good food. Thats cool that you made something tasty. I just finished ranting about the lack of good food during Easter when compared to the other BIG holidays:
    http://fedupfood.com/2012/04/08/happy-easter-but-i-am-still-hungry/

    • Great point! My family always does Italian for Easter, so I don’t feel like I’m missing out, although we do Italian for Christmas and everything else except Thanksgiving. What do non-Italians eat – ham? Lamb? Yuck! Your Peeps s’mores idea sounds like a better way to go.

  2. The monocol and the toad stool are so precious!!!

  3. Your eggs turned out great! Thanks for linking up to me πŸ™‚ (Frosted Fingers)

Leave a Reply

