As the right hand is to the left hand..

It’s hard to believe that just a little over one month ago, my mom texted me and told me that some pirate had just asked to marry her. I immediately knew “that pirate” was Chip, the highschool sweetheart she was reunited with eight years ago, and that he’d just proposed to her at the Pirates on the Pier event they were attending in Cocoa Beach. But, me ole ma is a rather saucy wench and we wouldn’t have been surprised if it had been some other rogue buccaneer to pop the question at first sight of her. So, in a flurry of paper and lace, trips to Michael’s and the Dollar Tree, several long discussions via ModCloth links, and a few glue gun burns, we planned Mom’s pirate-themed handfasting, which took place this past Wednesday, February 29. The recurring nightmare I had in the weeks leading up to my own wedding finally came true for me – despite lots of planning, I ran out of time and was still in yoga pants and a tank top, hair up in a “poo ball,” cussing at centerpieces as the guests were arriving. Whatever, I know for a fact that the God and Goddess don’t give a fig about my unshaved armpits, and the wind would probably have wrecked any cute hairstyle I’d attempted anyhow. It was a beautiful ceremony, the fully Pinterest-inspired appetizers were awesome, and the symbolism of this new start is something very significant for the Bat family. Enjoy these five pictures I had time to take, and a couple other cell phone shots by mom and Jesus. Hopefully the photographer captured some more detail, but the important part is that the ceremony was attended and enjoyed by the important people in the bride and groom’s lives, and I’m so glad to have been able to be a part of this.

About Kristyn Michele Bat

Teacher, tattooer, artist.

One comment

  1. Julia (and not the super-cute Zooey-Julia)

    So absolutely beautiful, I am so happy for them. ❤

Leave a Reply

