Quick and Dirty Knitting: Easy Finger Knit Scarf

We’re REALLY hoping for some more cool weather here in South Florida. We had a few days in January to wear our scarves and layers, and that’s about it. In hopes that our efforts will please the temperature deities, I introduced my students to finger knitting. It’s such a quick and easy craft, and I’ve seen it done with kids as young as early elementary age. This is a project that I first saw, like many of my great lesson plans, at Young at Art Children’s Museum. If you have kids and live in South Florida (or are planning a visit), you absolutely HAVE TO visit Young at Art! Without further ado, the ultimate keep-em-busy activity for long winter (even if it’s close to 80 degrees out) days.

 

Quick and Dirty Knitting: Easy Finger Knit Scarf from Kristyn Bat on Vimeo.

I realized after I made the video that in the last clip, you really don’t get a good view of the scarf that my students (two 7th grade boys, none the less!) made for me. (It’s apparently OK to make the scarf, but actually wearing it was a little too much for them.) So here it is!

About Kristyn Michele Bat

Teacher, tattooer, artist.

Leave a Reply

