TEACHERS! Y U NO TALK TO STUDENTS LIKE THEY HUMAN??

To promote the first meeting of an after school art club at my school, I’m targeting students by speaking in their visual language. I noticed my students were really into these internet memes when I asked them to create comics about their winter break. The number of Y U NO? and other meme characters populating the frames they drew was… striking. While it’s not high-brow, who ever said art has to be? Using humor and getting to their level certainly gets middle schoolers attention and, as one of my 8th graders told me, that’s a “total win.”

About Kristyn Michele Bat

Teacher, tattooer, artist.

One comment

  1. Pingback: What ever happened to plain old lavender blue dilly dilly? | Kristyn Michele Bat

Leave a Reply

