That’s when you’re the prettiest; I hope that you don’t take it wrong

I want to be a guy, but I want to wear a lot of makeup.
–Gwen Stefani

Clockwise from top left: Hello Kitty Brush Set (Sephora, $49), Smashbox Complexion Perfection Kit (Macy’s, $49), Sonia Kashuk Creme Blush in Rosey (Target, $9.99), Stila Long Wear Lip Color in Daring (Macy’s, $20), Urban Decay 24/7 Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner in Perversion ($18, Sephora), Rimmel Eyebrow Pencil in Dark Brown ($3, Target), Maybelline Volum’Express One by One ($6.49, Target).

As promised, a quick mention on some recent additions to my makeup collection. Shown above is my basic arsenal, including both the new stuff I acquired during Kristynmas as well as my tried and true standbys. Above, that classic style icon Gwen adeptly describes my current relationship with cosmetics. Um, except, I mean, there are guys who are guys who wear makeup.. I don’t want to be like that. Uh, I guess I’m really new to it all. I’ve always loved the look of makeup but until recently didn’t do much at all outside of basic concealer, blush, mascara and some kind of lightly tinted lip balm. In fact, I made it through most of high school without applying eye makeup more than twice. SN: One such occasion was senior prom, when my Julia (the beautiful bride in the slides below) came over with a huge palette of eyeshadow colors and glittery black liner – I know there are pictures somewhere. (Cursing myself for throwing away so much high school memorabilia!) Today, I still keep it pretty simple. Definitely no glitter liner, but I’ve moved past the five minute able-to-apply-it-at-red-lights face. I’m not sure if what I’m doing now really looks all that different – just more expensive, more time consuming to apply, and probably better for my skin I guess.

Below enjoy some of my adventures and mishaps in makeup application through the years. This embarrassing moment brought to you in part by my mom’s addiction to scanning old photos to Facebook.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Some of the blogs to which I owe my newfound Sephora-junkie status: the wild and wily ways of a brunette bombshell / the beauty department / a pretty penny

About Kristyn Michele Bat

Teacher, tattooer, artist.

Leave a Reply

