The Most Important Christmas Project Ever

“Most important ______ ever” has become a running joke between my Dad and I, in reference to this hilarious video about annoying tattoo clients. But just like the tattoo I did on my dad really literally being one of the most important I’ve done, I think the holiday gifts we made for my family this year really were some of best ever.

We decided to make jars of pickled peppers and eggplant after a family tradition that had disappeared long before I was born. My great grandmother, like many women of her day, preserved all sorts of food in jars, and my dad recalls shelves in her garage filled with gravy (aka spaghetti sauce), peppers, eggplant, roasted peppers, and such. I asked him to explain a little bit about why this was so important to us, so I’ll let my Dad take it from here.

There are many things that can stir up old feelings in this world. A scene, a sound, a taste. I have recently be thinking about some of the old feelings I remember from when I was a child. I remembered my grandparents and what struck me heavily was just the very smell of their house. A combination of garlic, olive oil, and various spices. But the memory it brought back to me was “Comfort”, and “Safety”. I remembered rows of Mason jars in my grandmother’s garage containing her ‘gravy’ of course, not to mention jars of both pickled peppers and pickled eggplant. I actually remember as a child not being particularly fond of the eggplant, but now, for some reason, I crave it!! Why?? I see now that it is some apparent attempt to recapture something important. I had decided to try to recreate some of these past feelings by making some of those foods that brought back so many memories for me. And thereby also passing on a tradition of something important. These traditions cannot be lost. We may lose sight of what is important occasionally, but let us never forget. Kristyn and I attempted to recreate something from the past. Hopefully to preserve and perpetuate something important! All my love to my beautiful daughter for participating with me in this endeavor. This has been my best Christmas ever!!

About Kristyn Michele Bat

Teacher, tattooer, artist.

Leave a Reply

