Dragon, Double Phoenix and Flowers, 1965

On Christmas Day, I spotted this gentleman with another, much older fella eating steak and drinking a Manhattan at Flanigan’s. I approached him to ask about this tattoo on his forearm. He told me he got it when he was 18 years old, in 1965, from an artist named Mike in Long Island, NY.

As you can see, the guys were in the middle of their dinner, so I didn’t want to be too much of a pain in the ass, but he did show me this other piece he had on his arm, as well as two small floral designs on either side of his chest. Although I’m amazed at how well the pieces have held up over the past almost 50 years, the designs are not entirely clear to me. They look as if they may both have been partial cover-ups, but again, I didn’t want to pry.

If anyone has any insight on these pieces, has ideas about who may have done them or knows other wearers of antique tattoos who may like to talk to me, drop me a note.

About Kristyn Michele Bat

Teacher, tattooer, artist.

Leave a Reply

