New Tattoo in Progress… by Jesus Lopez

Blame it on our Sunday night TV lineup: Dexter and the Walking Dead. It tends to make manifest creepy ideas. We have lepidoptera on the brain right now, we can’t tell you why yet. As soon as I saw Jesus drawing this weird skull swallowing/transforming into a moth, I called it. I’d been trying to find the right thing to put on the inside of my arm and I’ve also been claiming things from his sketchbook and then never making the time to get them done. I knew this was it and that we had to just go for it right then and there. So, while I watched my stories and drank some Gentleman Jack, Jesus made the stencil and set up, then we knocked out the linework in less than an hour. After a day of riding bike with my little lady dog, cleaning, making a Utrecht trip, breaking down my ofrenda in FAT Village, drinking beers with Jesus and my Dad, getting tattooed in my slippers was the perfect nightcap on the first restful weekend I’ve had in a while.

Between our birth and death we may touch understanding, As a moth brushes a window with its wing.
-Christopher Fry

About Kristyn Michele Bat

Teacher, tattooer, artist.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Moth on the Brain « jesusgorelopez

Leave a Reply

