La Dolce Vita


This past week has been (as always) pretty busy, but with all the right kinds of things. My students are developing good artistic and academic habits – taking chances, acting independently, being responsible for their own work. I hope to post pictures soon of the things they’ve been working on – canopic jars with earthenware clay animal heads, Calavera de Azucar and Luchadore masks for Dia de Los Muertos/Hispanic Heritage, awesome Frida-Kahlo inspired still lifes. I’m also moving again, me and Jesus back into my mom’s (now almost empty) big house where I grew up. I’ve been back and forth from my mom’s house and a number of apartments and rental homes about five or six times, and it’s my default place to crash when I’m not sure what’s coming next. Next school year, next tattoo shop, next whatever. I just don’t know where I’m going to be right now, so home is a better place than any other. As I was packing up my kitchen at my apartment, I started getting grumpy about it, sad to put away my vintage teacup and IKEA dishes, wishing that I was putting my life into boxes for some grander purpose, like moving to Indonesia or something. Then this huge voice in my head told me to be quiet, that I had NO IDEA what kind of adventures I was about to embark on and no right to feel despondent. And so it goes, this week along with Family Fun Night at my school, tattoo appointments and getting ready to travel to Orlando for my cousin’s 30th birthday, I’ve been unpacking and rearranging things as quickly as I can at my mom’s house.

Here are some highlights of the Orlando trip, and the insanely lovable and predictable Dad’s side of my family.


The truth is that life is delicious, horrible, charming, frightful, sweet, bitter, and that is everything.
-Anatole France

About Kristyn Michele Bat

Teacher, tattooer, artist.

Leave a Reply

